You are here

Commissioner Jourova to receive AmCham EU Transatlantic Business Award

Thursday, March 8, 2018

Brussels, 8 March 2018 – The American Chamber of Commerce to the European Union (AmCham EU) is delighted to announce that Věra Jourová, European Commissioner for Justice, Consumers and Gender Equality, will be presented with the Transatlantic Business Award this Friday.

This award formally recognises the Commissioner’s exceptional efforts to enhance transatlantic cooperation on a range of issues, including data protection. Commissioner Jourová has been instrumental in the conclusion and ongoing implementation of the 2016 EU-US Privacy Shield. The free movement of data is critical to ensuring the continued flow of trade and investment within the transatlantic economy – the largest of its kind in the world. Working in close collaboration with her US counterparts and key stakeholders, the Commissioner has also strengthened dialogue across the Atlantic.

Commissioner Jourová commented: ‘I am honoured to receive the Transatlantic Business Award. Setting up the EU-US Privacy Shield was necessary to fill a void and a win-win solution which facilitates transatlantic data flows, while providing high protection of personal data. Our work doesn’t stop now: the Privacy Shield will only be fully successful if it is monitored regularly and if all its safeguards are put in place’.

Launched in 2004, the AmCham EU Transatlantic Business Award acknowledges individuals who help strengthen and promote the EU-US economic relationship. Past winners include David McAllister MEP, Chair of the EU-US Delegation, European Parliament (2016); David O’Sullivan, Chief Operating Officer, European External Action Service (2014); The Honorable William E. Kennard, U.S. Ambassador to the EU (2012); and Christine Lagarde, French Minister for the Economy, Industry & Employment (2009).

Commissioner Jourová will be officially presented with the award at AmCham EU’s Transatlantic Conference on Friday 9 March at 11.15 CET. The event is open to press. To register, please click here.