You are here

Transatlantic Business Award

2018 2017 2016 2014 2012 2011 2010 2009 2008 2007 2006 2005 2004                                 

More info: Roberta Brumana


AmCham EU is delighted to announce that Valdis Dombrovskis, Executive Vice-President for an Economy that Works for People, European Commission, was presented with the Transatlantic Business Award. The award formally recognises the Executive Vice-President’s exceptional efforts to enhance transatlantic cooperation and strengthen the European economy. He has dedicated his career to making sure that Europe is an attractive place for investment and that economic growth benefits citizens.




AmCham EU is delighted to announce that the Transatlantic Business Award 2019 was presented to Cecilia Malmström, EU Commissioner for Trade, in recognition of her commitment to strengthening the transatlantic economy throughout her tenure in Brussels. The award recognises an individual who has demonstrated exceptional dedication to the pursuit of a strong and prosperous EU-US relationship.




On Friday, 9 March AmCham EU presented Věra Jourová, European Commissioner for Justice, Consumers and Gender Equality with the Transatlantic Business Award in recognition of her exceptional efforts to enhance transatlantic cooperation on a range of issues, including data protection.

Commissioner Jourová commented: ‘I am honoured to receive the Transatlantic Business Award. Setting up the EU-US Privacy Shield was necessary to fill a void and a win-win solution which facilitates transatlantic data flows, while providing high protection of personal data. Our work doesn’t stop now: the Privacy Shield will only be fully successful if it is monitored regularly and if all its safeguards are put in place’.



Anthony L. Gardner
Former US Ambassador to the EU (2013-2017)




Brussels, 3 June 2016 – The American Chamber of Commerce to the European Union (AmCham EU) was pleased to award David McAllister, MEP (EPP, DE) its eleventh Transatlantic Business Award at its Gala Evening. The award was created to acknowledge those who help strengthen and promote the EU-US economic relationship. 

David McAllister became a member of the European Parliament in 2014 and was a Vice-President of the European People’s Party (EPP). In an effort to be a stronger voice in transatlantic relations, he assumed chairmanship of the European Parliament’s Delegation for Relations with the United States. McAllister was recently ranked as one of the top 40 most influential MEPs by Politico Europe and is also a Fellow of The German Marshall Fund of the United States. He served as Prime Minister of Lower Saxony from 2010 until 2013.



David O’Sullivan 
Former Chief Operating Officer, European External Action Service (2010-2014),

Ambassador of the European Union to the United States



William E. Kennard 
Former US Ambassador to the EU (2009-2013)




Karel De Gucht 
Former European Commissioner for Trade



Jean-Claude Trichet 
Former President of the European Central Bank (2003-2011)

Ben Bernanke 
Former Chairman of the US Federal Reserve (2006-2014)

Christine Lagarde 
Former French Minister of Finance (2007-2011),

Managing Director of the International Monetary Fund

José Manuel Barroso 
Former President of the European Commission (2004-2014)

Angela Merkel 
Chancellor of Germany

Joseph Quinlan
Senior Fellow, Center for Transatlantic Relations, 
Johns Hopkins University

Daniel Hamilton 
Executive Director at the Centre for Transatlantic Relations

James Elles
Former Member of the European Parliament (1999-2014)
and Founder of the Transatlantic Policy Network

Pat Cox
Former President of the European Parliament (2002-2004)

2018 2017 2016 2014 2012 2011 2010 2009 2008 2007 2006 2005 2004                                 

More info: Jelena Letljane